Previous recipients

2011 George Soros and Aryeh Neier

2010 Navi Pillay

2009 Richard Goldstone

The AwardBlue_bar

If you are not redirected to please click here!

The Stockholm Human Rights Award was established in 2009 by the International Bar Association (IBA), The International Legal Assistance Consortium (ILAC) and the Swedish Bar Association. The award, which comes in the form of a glass sculpture and a diploma, is given annually to an individual or organization for outstanding contributions to human rights and the rule of law. The award ceremony takes place in late November or early December at the premises of the Swedish Bar, in the presence of an international audience of diplomats, legal experts and NGO's.

In 2009 the Stockholm Human Rights Award went to the South African judge Richard Goldstone, former Chief Prosecutor for the international criminal tribunals for the Balkans and Rwanda, and head of a UN-appointed fact-finding mission to Gaza after the Israeli campaign "Cast Lead" at the end of 2008 and beginning of 2009.

The award for 2010 was given to the UN High Commissioner for Human Rights, Ms. Navi Pillay, who is also from South Africa, for her life-long service to the rule of law and human rights, and for her role in the developement of groundbreaking international jurisprudence on rape as a war crime.

Read Dagens Nyheter's editorial
Navi Pillay: Worthy winner worth listening to.

Full pressrelease of the 2011 Stockholm Human Rights Award.



IBA_LOGO  ILAC_LOGO  Advokatsamfundet_logo